Friday Night Cricket Only 21/12/18

It looks as if we will finally see conditions that are conducive to cricket.

There were 6 games that got under way last Friday where both teams were able to complete the same amount of overs. These games will continue as 2 day games this Friday with the allotted 44 overs (22 overs per team)

The games where only limited overs were played before the heavens opened will be scrapped and recommence as a 44 over one day games this Friday (22 overs per team)

Where no play was available last Friday the game will revert to a 44 over one day game (22 overs per team)

If you have any questions please do not hesitate to call me on 0450 336 992,     Tom Anderson

Junior Friday night teams 14th December 2018 – Please report to all grounds as normal.

Please report to all grounds as normal.

Currently the weather is stable and ground inspections have been undertaken which shows the grounds at this point in time are playable.

The forecast for late today is not flash!

Please note that this is the first week of a two- week fixture therefore next week can become a 1 day game if the weather intervenes.


BHRDCA Tri Series Rep Teams Ray McIntosh & Howard Wilson Shield

T20 McIntosh Shield Grade


The RCDA won the toss and sent BHRDCA into bat, and it was soon realized by RDCA that this was a big mistake.  Nick Chancellor and Ben Joseph opened the batting, with Chancellor going out for 4 runs off 5 balls.  Joseph hit the ground running and started hitting boundaries after only a few deliveries.  Chelvin, Wise, OShea, all going out very cheaply but this did not stop a rampant Joseph who by the end of a shortened match due to earlier rain, smashed 72 from just 35 deliveries, in what was a T20 clinic from an in form player.  All up BHRDCA scored 7/147 from just 15 overs.

RDCA came in to bat and the BHRDCA bowling attack was weathering the storm very well keeping everyone down on scoring except for Adams with 51 off 36 balls. A late surge toward the end of the innings was not enough for RDCA to get over the line with other notable scores being Stevenson (37) and Mitchell not out on 24.  A stellar bowling performance from Newey with figures of 4/16 after 3 overs.  In the end RDCA finished up with 8/131 at the end of their 15 overs.


T20 Wilson Shield Grade


With the ECA needing to withdraw from the game only a single match was played at Kimberly Reserve in Chirnside Park. With bad weather looming the BHRDCA started poorly with Fenner, Hunt and Proctor all going out very cheaply.  Arnold battled on and made 13 off 16 balls.  Rain delayed play as a thunderstorm passed over.  After approximately half an hour, play resumed, and the wickets continued to tumble for the BHRDCA with Farry bowled for 5 off 16, Theunissen caught off the bowling of Pandya for 11, Ross LBW on his first ball for a duck, Fox run out without facing a ball and Volpe caught for 1 off 6 deliveries.  Hodges and Humphries, representing the tail end of the innings, both battled on to see out the full 20 overs after being 9/38 at the 13th over.  At the end of the innings BHRDCA were 9/69 with Hodes on 20 off 21 balls and Humphries at 13 from 29 balls.

The RDCA came into bat and at the end of a very expensive first over Humphries took the first wicket, but the precedence had been set with RDCA being 1/14 at the end of the first over.  Jensen came in to bowl the second over and on his second ball claimed Wong who mishit the ball and was caught for a duck.  Humphries bowled a much more tidy second over getting another wicket and at the end of the third over it was 3/19.  The runs flowed but so did the wickets for BHRDCA, RDCA batsmen were Pandya 18 from 16 balls, Johnson 11 from 6 balls faced, Nelson and DeSilva both not out and hitting the winning runs.


East Burwood Cricket Club will hold its annual past players day on Saturday, January 19


East Burwood Cricket Club will hold its annual past players day on Saturday, January 19 at which the club will acknowledge a number of premiership milestones. With many of its records incomplete, the club is finding it challenging to contact members of those teams that will be recognised. The club is inviting all former East Burwood, Bennettswood and East Burwood/Bennettswood players to attend the function at the East Burwood Reserve with the premiership wins of the East Burwood A Grade side of 1988, Bennettswood’s C Grade side of 1988, Bennettswood’s Ray McIntosh Shield winners of 1989 and East Burwood/ Bennettswood’s Shield 2 (1994) and C Grade (1994) sides to be acknowledged. “At our past players days we’ve never really acknowledged any of the premiership milestones, the five years, the 10 years, the 20 years,” former premiership player Anthony Apps said. “But our records aren’t that great, so we’re relying on word of mouth and social media.” The event will start at 1.00pm as East Burwood hosts Bulleen Templestowe for the second day of a McIntosh Shield two-dayer. The club will also hold its major fund raising raffle that night. For more details, and for past players to get in touch, contact David Nelthorpe (0404 018 574).

BHRDCA RMS and HWS rep teams for Sunday 9/12/18

Ray McIntosh Shield Representative Team:

Jodan Wise ©                           Blackburn CC

Rob Chancellor                         Blackburn CC

Nick Chancellor                        Blackburn CC

Daniel O’Shea                           East Box Hill CC

Leigh Newey                             East Box Hill CC

Damien Cupido                         East Burwood CC

Justin Coombe                          Blackburn North CC

Dean Burton                              Blackburn North CC

Arun Chelvan                            Glen Waverley Hawks CC

Connor Spinks                           Kerrimuir United CC

Ben Joseph                                Heatherdale CC

Tharanga Jayawardhane         East Burwood CC

Howard Wilson Shield Representative Team:

Clint Proctor  ©                      Koonung Heights CC

Chris Ross                                Koonung Heights CC

James Fenner                          Koonung Heights CC

Jacob Janssen                          Mitcham CC

Jack Humphries                       Mulgrave Wheelers Hill CC

Kristien Arnold                        Mulgrave Wheelers Hill CC

Jackson Fox                             Mulgrave Wheelers Hill CC

Lionel Hunt                              Park Orchards CC

Ross Theunissen                     Laburnum CC

Will Farry                                 St. Davids CC

BHRDCA Sponsors

BHRDCA Events Calendar

August 2021

TB Volunteer Of The Month

Tobin Brothers Volunteer Of The Month

Volunteer of the Month Awards for Season 2020/21

November: David Elliot - Laburnum CC
December: Garry Burke - Bburn NthCC

BHRDCA Archives